Pages

Monday, January 18, 2010

Veracity Blog Tour January 18, 2010

Veracity - Laura Bynum (Pocketbooks for Blog Tour)

Product Details (via B&N website)

* Pub. Date: January 2010
* Publisher: Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Group
* Format: Hardcover, 384pp

* ISBN-13: 9781439123348
* ISBN: 1439123349

Synopsis (via B&N website)

Harper Adams was six years old in 2012 when an act of viral terrorism wiped out one-half of the country's population. Out of the ashes rose a new government, the Confederation of the Willing, dedicated to maintaining order at any cost. The populace is controlled via government-sanctioned sex and drugs, a brutal police force known as the Blue Coats, and a device called the slate, a mandatory implant that monitors every word a person speaks. To utter a Red-Listed, forbidden word is to risk physical punishment or even death.

But there are those who resist. Guided by the fabled "Book of Noah," they are determined to shake the people from their apathy and ignorance, and are prepared to start a war in the name of freedom. The newest member of this resistance is Harper -- a woman driven by memories of a daughter lost, a daughter whose very name was erased by the Red List. And she possesses a power that could make her the underground warriors' ultimate weapon -- or the instrument of their destruction.

In the tradition of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Laura Bynum has written an astonishing debut novel about a chilling, all-too-plausible future in which speech is a weapon and security comes at the highest price of all.

My Thoughts:

When I first read the synopsis of this book, I knew instantly that I had to read it. I knew it had potential to be an exciting read. I wasn't let down. The synopsis says it is reminiscent of The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood, and after reading it I would have to agree.

Imagine living in a world where the penalty for saying something as simple as democracy could get you shot on site or tortured or worse. That's if you survive the shock the implant you have in your neck, gives you for saying the word in the first place. There were a lot of places in this book that just gave me the creeps and leaves you wondering what if? What if we lost our our right to say what we want, when we want? What would you do if your rights were taken away from you?

Veracity opens up a lot of areas of discussable content and I think it would even be a decent choice for a book club that loves to debate. Loss of freedom of speech, Loss of family, Public executions and torture. On the flip side you have the love a mother has for her child, the strength of the people who remember the old times, our times, and want to get it back.

The whole way through the book you hear about the elusive "Book of Noah" and how the Blue Coats will go to any length to get it. By the end of the book you will know why this book is so important and why it was protected at any cost. I will admit I was surprised to find out what and why.

I'd enjoyed this book and I am glad I got the opportunity to read it.

Participating Blogs:

All About {n}: http://www.bookwormygirl.blogspot.com/
The Cajun Book Lady: http://thecajunbooklady.blogspot.com/
Rundpinne: http://www.rundpinne.blogspot.com/
My Friend Amy: http://www.myfriendamysblog.com/
The Neverending Shelf: http://www.theneverendingshelf.com/
Drey’s Library: http://dreyslibrary.blogspot.com/
Book Junkie: http://myfoolishwisdom.blogspot.com/
Books Gardens & Dogs: http://maryinhb.blogspot.com/
My Book Views: http://my-book-views.blogspot.com/
Readaholic: http://bridget3420.blogspot.com/
Brizmus Blogs About Books: http://brizmusblogsbooks.blogspot.com/
Pam’s Private Reflections: http://hip2bhomeschooling.blogspot.com/
My Book Addiction and More: www.mybookaddictionandmore.wordpress.com
Starting Fresh: http://startingfresh-gaby317.blogspot.com/
Frugal Plus: http://frugalplus.com/
Books, Books Everywhere: http://bookbookseverywhere.blogspot.com/
My Guilty Pleasures: http://www.mgpblog.com/
The Bibliophilic Book Blog: http://www.bibliophilicbookblog.com/
A Book Bloggers Diary: http://abookbloggersdiary.blogspot.com/
Opinionated? Me?: http://readingwatchingliving.blogspot.com/
I Heart Monster: http://www.iheartmonster.com/
Wendy’s Minding Spot: http://mindingspot.blogspot.com/
Parajunkee’s View: http://parajunkee.blogspot.com/
The Wayfaring Writer: http://moonsanity.blogspot.com/
You Wanna Know What I Think?: http://www.kballard87.blogspot.com/
Bookfoolery & Babble: http://bookfoolery.blogspot.com/
Between the Pages: http://www.betweenthelinesandmore.blogspot.com/
Savey Spender: http://saveyspender.com/
Temple Library Reviews: http://templelibraryreviews.blogspot.com/
See Michelle Read: http://seemichelleread.blogspot.com/
Revenge of the Booknerds: http://booknerdextraordinaire.blogspot.com/
Must Read Faster: http://mustreadfaster.blogspot.com/
Jeanne's Ramblings: http://www.jeannesramblings.com
Blog Business World: http://www.blogbusinessworld.blogspot.com/
What Book Is That?: http://whatbookisthat.blogspot.com/
Books & Needlepoint: http://booksandneedlepoint.blogspot.com/



Author website:


http://www.laurabynum.com/

5 comments:

ParaJunkee said...

Wasn't it surprising to find out about the book, but then not. It was almost like a light bulb went off. This book was wonderful. Definitely had me thinking all weekend.

Zia said...

ParaJunkee - Yes exactly!

Lorri Jeanne said...

I agree about the book. Something we all take for granted...

Jill said...

I agree about the book, I thought it was going to be something else but then it really did make sense.

Melissa (My World) said...

This sounds like a great read! Almost like wanting to look over your shoulder to see who is following you but no one is there. I like the sound of the "big brother" seeming to always know what you are doing, saying, and even thinking.

I am going to have to look into this book. Thanks for the great review!